Lori & Julia's Book Club

It's Lori & Julia's Book Club, as heard on myTalk 107.1 radio! These best friends turned sisters-in-law do in-depth author interviews and give recommendations for everything from non-fiction to psychological thrillers. You can't fail out of this book club. Stick with Lori & Juila and you'll never go without a good book again!

LATEST EPISODE

Lori & Julia?s Book Club

Past Episodes

NY times best-selling author, Liane Moriarty, is one of our fav authors: Big Little Lies, What Alice Forget and Truly, Madly, Deeply to name a few. Her latest book (already optioned by Nicole Kidman) welcomes 9 people to Tranquillum House, a health and wellness retreat that promises a life changing transformation in 10 days. The main character is Frances, a writer who is failing at love as well as eight other interesting people. Then there is Masha, the mysterious and charismatic owner of the resort with some very draconian rules. This book is poignant, funny & tense. Julia really liked the audio version as well. 5 out of 5 stars.
00:00:00 11/6/2018
Alone at The Top is the story of artic explorer and mountaineer, Minnesotan Lonnie Dupree's attempt to summit Mt. Denali in the middle of winter. It took him 4 attempts and he finally soloed on his 4th attempt. We tore through this book because it was exciting and there is no way we are ever going to do this. But we are fascinated at people who do incredible feats that involve taking on nature. If you love true life adventure stories this book is for you. 5 out of 5 stars.
00:00:00 10/31/2018
This debut novel had us up late at night tearing through the pages. Comparisons to the Handmaid's Tale are inevitable but this dystopian story is compelling, riveting and a cautionary tale that will wake you up. Our hearts were racing reading this. Easily one of the best books of the year. 5 out of 5 stars.
00:00:00 10/25/2018
You may or may not be familiar with Dessa through her music as a singer & hip hop MC with Doomtree but either way get ready to enjoy her debut memoir about her life. Written with a thoughtful eye for detail (her love life) and describing her life in profound, funny or delightful ways (every story she shares), Dessa dazzled us with her storytelling and lyrical wordsmithing. We are ready to everything she writes. 5 out of 5 stars
00:00:00 10/16/2018
This is a fast paced psychological thriller about ambition, obsession and what happens when the lies we tell ourselves can no longer be distinguished from the truth. A character driven novel w/ so many twists and surprises you will not want to put it down. It all starts when a 18 yr. old Lucas Blackthorn, (thought to be dead for over tens years) shows up at the Condon Psychiatric Facility the city of Duluth. Everyone wants to know where he has been, where is his father and how did they survive off the grid? Then a former Condon patient, Maya is assigned to get Lucas to speak. Sparks fly. Fans of books like Gone Girl and A Woman in the Window will love this book. 4 stars
00:00:00 10/12/2018
This is a story of friendship, love and betrayal. And we agree with Lorna Landvik's assessment of The Witness Tree...."it is a deeply satisfying character-driven novel". This story is beautifully written and so compelling that you cannot stop turning the page. 5 out of 5 stars.
00:00:00 10/2/2018
Jessie Sloane is forced to question who she is in this emotionally charged thriller by the best selling author of "The Good Girl", Mary Kubica. Jessi discovers a shocking detail that causes her to doubt her everything she has ever known about her life. While figuring out her story, Jessie tumbles down a rabbit hole and both Jessie and " the reader" don't know what is real and what isn't. 3.5 stars
00:00:00 9/28/2018
A rowdy and vividly dishy memoir by the only woman on the masthead of Rolling Stone magazine in the '60s. Stories include stalking the Grateful Dead, sparring with Dennis Hopper, scandalizing fans of David Cassidy and sleeping with a Kennedy. Also: Robin's experience writing for TV (Northern Exposure), writing and producing THE SOPRANOS, and creating Blue Bloods. 5/5 stars
00:00:00 9/18/2018

Shows You Might Like

Comments

You must be a premium member to leave a comment.

Copyright © 2018 PodcastOne.com. All Rights Reserved. | Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy

Powered By Nox Solutions